Back in Addis

We left Austin at 11:45 Wednesday morning and arrived in Addis 26 hours later.  After obtaining a visa and reuniting with all our luggage, we met a Gladney driver who took us from Bole Airport to the guest house.  As a bad traveler, I am always relieved to arrive anywhere, but I felt a different peace as we cruised the evening streets — like I was home.  I don’t think that feeling came out of an affinity for Addis, although I do like it.  Rather, in coming in faith and obedience, God welcomed me to him with a peace that can only come from him.

We got about seven hours of halting sleep.  I awoke at 6 a.m. to send an email to the CIS office in Nairobi who we need to approve Aseres file to bring her home.  We did not come to clear Aseres case by the coming, but simply to be with her.  Still, on the chance that our presence is an action God can work through, we mine as well let them know we are here.

It is now late morning Friday in Addis.  Owen, Roni and Connor are eight hours behind in Texas.  I hope they told the grandparents Thursday was pizza night.  We are praying for them during our separation with the same force with which we prayed with them for Aseres during that separation — almost as if God prepared us for the leaving.  As I wrote that last sentence, Ambes calles to say he is bringing Aseres to us in two hours — all glory be to God.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy I
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 13:33:52

    We are praying praying praying and can see God is always answering those prayers with His perfection. Your journey of faith is a testimony to me.

    I saw Roni going into school this morning with her Texas outfit in hand. They looked like they were all doing great!

    Praying praying praying . . .Love you both, Sandy

    Reply

  2. Charles
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 13:57:53

    Does this mean that you’re able to bring her home?? Incredible news!! We can’t wait to meet her and see your entire family together! Your strength and faith have been instructional to me and have helped me keep perspective. We can’t wait for more details!

    Reply

  3. Christy
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 15:06:33

    Weeping, rejoicing and praying for your family today!

    Reply

  4. momofsons
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 19:56:47

    We are praying too. Roni was soooo cute today for the Cottage Kitchen. In her Texas day costume. She waited on Sam, Harriett Bates & me. Just precious. I chatted with her a bit and commented about how great it must be to have two gramma’s & grampa’s to spoil her. She just gave me the cutest grin at this thought. I told her we were praying for ya’ll and her new baby sister. Take Care and God Bless. LInda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

